Bad Phishing
I received the sorriest phishing attempt I've seen in a while in my inbox this morning:
Welcome to Windows Update! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- There are 10 critical updates available at this timeGet the latest updates available for your computer's operating system,
software, and hardware.
Windows Update scans your computer and provides you with a selection
of updates tailored just for you.Checking for the latest version of the Windows Update software...
Depending on your connection speed, this might take a minute.
During this time, you may receive one or more security warnings.
Review each security warning to ensure that the content is signed by Microsoft,
and then click Yes to install the software.Follow the link : Windows Update
(ed: hyperlink to www.microsoft-security-updates.com removed; I don't suggest you browse there.)Open the fail,and new updates are installed.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sincerely,
www.microsoft.com.
Between this and the eBay scam Ross posted about, it's clear that phishers aren't dismayed by the ICANN's "trademark protection" policies (see the paragraph entitled "Evidence of Registration and Use in Bad Faith"). It's because just about any registrar will automatically approve a domain name, and it's up to the trademark holder to report the violation to the registrar or ICANN. Is it worth it, just so that sites like microsoftsucks.com and ebaysucks.com can be automatically approved?